The Truth Hurts by Adam Francis Smith

Posted: March 16, 2016 by Shade's Progress in Adam Francis Smith, Death in Space
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

High Movility Infantry by Shabazik on DeviantArt.com

“One way out,” she said. I know now that she meant death. I thought she had meant this gauntlet.

I leap into an alcove. Flashes and bullets. I dive, sliding to the next door. I stand, decide not to wait, push off the wall, run.

Finally, I’m huddled beneath the window. Ten feet more and then freedom.

I take a breath, hold it, skitter across the floor and a bullet slams into my thigh. A laser burns my neck. I drop and exhale. Another bullet hits my knee. A laser blast burns the truth into my gut; she was right.

Leave a Reply

