Sound Carries by Joshua Begley

Posted: May 8, 2016 by Shade's Progress in Uncategorized

Dolphin’s nightmare by rocioam7 on DeviantArt.com

The baby wouldn’t shut up, so I did what I had to do. It was ridiculous how large my hand was compared to his face. I covered his mouth, his nose, his eyes. He squirmed and huffed, but eventually his little body went limp.

I wanted to cry, there in that ruin that had once been a house. Rain poured in from the swiss cheese roof and ivy grew on the walls. My house used to be like that. Once upon a time.

I wanted to cry, but I couldn’t. The dolphin’s hearing was too good.

Leave a Reply

